Friday, December 2, 2011

Three new writing contests

John Ciardi Prize for Poetry is offered annually for the best previously unpublished book of poetry. The winner receives $1,000 and publication by BkMk Press. Deadline: January 15.

Dixon Ryan Fox Manuscript Prize is awarded annually by the New York State Historical Association for the best unpublished book-length manuscript dealing with some aspect of the history of New York state. Prize is $3,000. Deadline: January 20.

Jesse Jones Award for Fiction recognizes the best book of fiction entered into the competition. Entrants must have either been born in Texas or lived in the state for at least 2 consecutive years. First place is $6,000. Deadline: January 1.

Source: Writer's Market,